Saturday, October 17, 2009

Oh yeah? Really?

Last night, my husband arrived after picking her up around 8:30 or so. It's not like I was sitting around waiting for them to get home or anything, but I had been home all day. I took a sick day from work, and I had a little cabin fever. I usually get anxious to see my husband after an entire day of seclusion with no physical contact with the outside world.

The two of them came in in a flurry, and she pretty much b-lined to her room, shut the door, and turned her tv on. Did she say anything to me? I can't even remember. I didn't care though, or at least I was supposed to pretend not to. Is it melodramatic to say I felt like I wasn't there? Am I an attention whore?

I cooked dinner and set up her plate, and decided to have a little witty exchange at the door of her bedroom.

"Are you hungry?"
"A little."
"How hungry are you?"
"Ummm."
"Are you too hungry to skip dinner?"
"Ummmm."
"Did you have dinner?"
"We had spaghetti at program." (Whats program, who the fuck knows.)
"Was that dinner?"
"It was a snack"
"How hungry will you be if you don't have dinner tonight?"
"VERY."
"Well I have you dinner right here, you can come and eat."

Five minutes later, she was still in her room with her door shut, the steam from her plate fading. I asked her if she was going to come and eat or what. She said no, she wasn't hungry.

My husband told me that it took an hour and a half to pick her up because her mother refused to come to the door of her job, that he was almost going to leave town and leave her there. Apparently, the mother is upset because my husband didn't tell her that their daughters eye glasses were ready to be picked. He said he was going to pick them up himself. Something like that. Apparently none of it has anything to do with me.

So here we are, at the start of the weekend, and my step daughter hasn't come out of her bedroom yet. She doesn't want to talk to us? She really just wants to be in her room the whole time? She's not going to ask for food? To go out? Don't we have to get her something for halloween? I'm out of it. I've decided that I'm in, or I'm out. There's no in between for me. Which means, I'm not going to go out of my way to spend money and take care of someone else's kid, if I'm not getting anything out of it. Bitch, you say? Hell yeah, I say.

No comments:

Post a Comment